Lact - Palo Alto School Representative


Palo Alto School Representative

Center for training, intervention and research

Strategic systemic approach and hypnosis

 01 48 07 40 40  | 

      Make an appointment

      How does procrastination affect mental health and our everyday lives? How to stop procrastinating? Procrastination in a systemic approach.

      Self Confidence Concept Illustration

       Procrastination, what is it?

      The origin of the term procrastination comes from the Latin words “pro” (forward or in favor of) and “crastinus” (of tomorrow). It also has its origin in the Latin word "procrastinare", which means to postpone, delay, prolong, defer, block or postpone the execution of a task. It involves carrying out an activity other than that planned and is synonymous with idleness. Procrastination involves avoiding a task or postponing it until a later, often unspecified, time. For example, you may know that you need to pay your taxes or submit your passport application form, but you are not doing what is required (and important!), which therefore implies the idea of ​​avoiding doing what we know we should do.

       

      We can procrastinate in many ways and our strategies can be exceptionally creative. The best definition of procrastination is "delaying an initially planned task, while expecting to suffer as a result." We all procrastinate from time to time, but in the modern world we also feel the pressure to continually start new tasks. We rearrange the pens on our desk, empty the trash, and surf the web, while the deadline hangs over our heads like an executioner's ax - the anticipation feeling worse than the task we're avoiding . In management jargon, we talk about creating a hot platform, from which we should be forced to jump, but we don't. In reality, we hold back from acting, like a train that has arrived and that we must now take. Yet we persist in using pens, the trash can, the internet.

      Here are some characteristics of procrastination:

      • Procrastinators have a hard time starting to work on something.
      • Procrastinators complain about how difficult things are and how busy they are.
      • Procrastinators generally don't finish what they start.
      • Procrastinators have too many things on their minds and on their to-do list.

      Our search for a compulsive, pointless activity to undertake or continue gives us an escape, a reason not to begin what needs to be done. The downside is that all the unfinished work remains on our calendar and to-do list, which only exacerbates our inability to begin the necessary task. This also means that in our downtime we tend to obsess over the things we haven't yet accomplished and how much time we have to free up. Avoiding the discomfort of the task is now mildly or severely unpleasant and so, whether we are busy or free, we do not have a sense of satisfaction and so we seek even more pleasure by delaying until that we feel comfortable. Procrastinators recognize that they procrastinate, delay a task or decision, and continually delay the start or completion of a planned action.

       

      Doubtful procrastination

      Delaying the inevitable

      The series of delayed or postponed actions results in an imperfect and undesirable behavioral outcome for our brain, resulting in emotional disturbance. Procrastination is quickly becoming a topic of interest in many professional contexts, whether it is finance (people putting off solving their financial problems) or health (people delaying their visit to the doctor). doctor).

       In psychology, the exact definition of procrastination is the subject of much debate, but the fields of neuroscience and behavioral economics view procrastination as an irrational delay, where one postpones an action when one feels worse off because of her. Consistent with our neurobiology, long-term intentions appear to be generated and observed, primarily in what is known as the prefrontal cortex of the brain. These impulses may be generated by our limbic system, which is particularly sensitive to very concrete stimuli, suggesting immediate gratification. The result is that we intend to work but procrastinate when the time comes, discovering that our preferences suddenly change as we pursue more easily pleasurable concrete temptations. This would explain why impulsivity is one of the traits most strongly associated with procrastination. We put off tasks with long-term rewards because we are impulsively distracted by short-term temptations.

      Doubtful procrastination

      Postponing making a decision in the event of conflict or choice is completely normal in procrastination. People who avoid making many decisions tend to be afraid of mistakes and are likely very perfectionistic. These procrastinators obsessively seek increasing amounts of definitive information about all available alternatives (as if that were possible!) before attempting to make a decision. The perfectly reasoned solution never arrives. Procrastinators experience deep uncertainty about their decisions, find themselves unable to act, and continually seek certainty before acting. This mechanism, which leads to the formation of a deep distrust of one's abilities, has a harmful effect because he overestimates the abilities of others or underestimates his own. This delay in action turns into increased anxiety, which blocks them even more. Repeating these delay tactics only increases their shame and self-loathing, which further exacerbates their feelings of helplessness and inadequacy. These behaviors usually result in the person suffering from low self-esteem and eventually becoming chronically insecure.

      Procrastination behavior

      Behavioral procrastination is a form of self-sabotage that allows people to blame others and avoid taking action. Procrastinators prefer to appear as if they lack effort rather than ability. Their logic is best illustrated by the idea that “if I never finish the task, you will never be able to judge my abilities.” Their guilt-ridden approach and inability to achieve their goals usually results in time being the culprit. Concern about others and how they may criticize or judge their abilities is paramount in their minds. It is not uncommon for people who procrastinate to view themselves solely on the basis of their abilities and continually seek to build a self-image and self-esteem on this basis. However, the closed loop they are stuck in becomes a vicious cycle in which avoidance leads to anxiety. Not succeeding fuels anxiety and low self-esteem, and so on.

       

       

      Book an in-office consultation in Paris Montorgueuil or remotely by videoconference

      We receive our patients from Monday to Friday.
      To make an appointment you can call us on +33 (0) 1 48 07 40 40 
      or +33 (0) 6 03 24 81 65 or even make it directly online
      by clicking here:

      Self-delusion: “I work best under pressure”

      Procrastinators may have the uncanny ability to underestimate the time it will take to complete a task and may suffer from the illusion that they have everything under control. The logical continuation of this reasoning is therefore the following: “there is no pressure to start” since there is more than enough time. At this point, considerable and usually excessive effort is expended to complete the task and the work progresses. This sudden surge of psychic and physical energy sees them progress due to lack of time or resources, ultimately leaving them exhausted, tired and out of breath.

      Obstacles to action

      A procrastinator may face feelings of low self-confidence and self-esteem, as we mentioned previously. The real pitfall may also lie in their insistence on demanding the highest standards, because they cannot accept that their work is not good enough. When people procrastinate, they may insist on achieving the highest level of performance, despite their pervasive feelings of inadequacy. My very dear colleagues, doctors Claudette Portelli and Matteo Papantuono (2019), have written an innovative book on the compulsive aspects of pleasure and they highlight the fact that pleasure is also a source of great pain. Too much pleasure can inhibit our ability to experience pleasure. Procrastination is accompanied by a desire for more pleasant activities and experiences, in order to distract us from the work ahead of us that seems so unpleasant. We embrace distractions such as the pleasure of doing something pleasant, having a coffee or going for a beer with a friend. It can also be about the pleasure of resisting and taking control, which results in declaring to others or to oneself: "I will do it when I am ready."

      References

      Gibson, P. (2021) The 12 Most Common Mental Traps. Strategic Science Books.

       

      Read also:

       

      I want to consult

      Make an appointment

       

       

      A team of more than
      50 trainers in France
      and abroad

      of our students satisfied with
      their training year at LACT *

      International partnerships

      The quality certification was issued under
      the following category of actions: Training action

      A team of more than
      50 trainers in France
      and abroad

      of our students satisfied with
      their training year at LACT *

      International partnerships

      The quality certification was issued under
      the following category of actions: Training action

      USEFUL LINKS

      To safeguard
      User choice for Cookies
      We use cookies to provide you with the best possible services. If you decline the use of these cookies, the website may not function properly.
      accept everything
      Decline all
      Learn more
      Unknown
      Unknown
      Accept
      Decline
      Marketing
      Set of techniques aimed at commercial strategy and in particular market research.
      Google
      Accept
      Decline
      Analytics
      Tools used to analyze navigation data and measure the effectiveness of the website in order to understand how it works.
      Google Analytics
      Accept
      Decline
      Functional
      Tools used to provide functionality to you while you browse, this may include social media features.
      Hotjar
      Accept
      Decline

Lact - Représentant Ecole Palo Alto

Représentant
École de Palo Alto

Centre de formation, intervention et recherche

Approche systémique stratégique et hypnose

      Prendre Rendez-vous

      Comment la procrastination affecte la santé mentale et notre vie de tous les jours ? Comment ne plus procrastiner ? La procrastination dans une approche systémique.

      Illustration Du Concept De Confiance En Soi

       La procrastination, qu’est-ce que c’est ?

      L'origine du terme procrastination vient du mot latin "pro" (en avant ou en faveur de) et "crastinus" (de demain). Il trouve également son origine dans le mot latin "procrastinare", qui signifie remettre à plus tard, retarder, prolonger, différer, bloquer ou reporter l'exécution d'une tâche. Elle implique l'exécution d'une autre activité que celle prévue et est synonyme d'oisiveté. La procrastination consiste à éviter une tâche ou à la reporter à un moment ultérieur, souvent indéterminé. Par exemple, vous savez peut-être que vous devez payer vos impôts ou envoyer votre formulaire de demande de passeport, mais vous ne faites pas ce qui est exigé (et important !), ce qui implique donc l'idée d'éviter de faire ce que nous savons que nous devrions faire.

       

      Nous pouvons procrastiner de nombreuses façons et nos stratégies peuvent être exceptionnellement créatives. La meilleure définition de la procrastination est "le fait de retarder une tâche initialement prévue, tout en s'attendant à en pâtir". Nous remettons tous à plus tard de temps en temps, mais dans le monde moderne, nous ressentons également la pression de commencer continuellement de nouvelles tâches. Nous réorganisons les stylos sur notre bureau, nous vidons la poubelle et nous surfons sur le web, alors que la date limite est suspendue au-dessus de notre tête comme une hache de bourreau - l'anticipation nous semblant pire que la tâche que nous évitons. Dans le jargon du management, on parle de créer une plateforme brûlante, d'où nous devrions être obligés de sauter, mais nous ne le faisons pas. En réalité, nous nous retenons d'agir, comme un train qui est arrivé et que nous devons maintenant prendre. Pourtant, nous persistons à utiliser les stylos, la poubelle, l'internet.

      Voici quelques caractéristiques de la procrastination :

      • Les procrastinateurs ont du mal à commencer à travailler sur quelque chose.
      • Les procrastinateurs se plaignent de la difficulté des choses et du fait qu'ils sont très occupés.
      • Les procrastinateurs ne finissent généralement pas ce qu'ils commencent.
      • Les procrastinateurs ont trop de choses en tête et sur leur liste de choses à faire.

      Notre recherche d'une activité compulsive et inutile à entreprendre ou à poursuivre nous donne une échappatoire, une raison de ne pas commencer ce qui doit être fait. L'inconvénient est que tout le travail inachevé reste sur notre agenda et sur notre liste de choses à faire, ce qui ne fait qu'exacerber notre incapacité à commencer la tâche nécessaire. Cet état de fait signifie également que, pendant nos temps morts, nous sommes généralement obsédés par les choses que nous n'avons pas encore accomplies et par le temps qui se libère. Le fait d'éviter l'inconfort de la tâche est maintenant légèrement ou gravement désagréable et donc, que nous soyons occupés ou libres, nous n'avons pas un sentiment de satisfaction et nous recherchons donc encore plus de plaisir en retardant jusqu'à ce que nous nous sentions à l'aise. Les procrastinateurs reconnaissent qu'ils remettent à plus tard, qu'ils retardent une tâche ou une décision et qu'ils retardent continuellement le début ou l'achèvement d'une action prévue.

       

      Procrastination dubitative

      Retarder l'inévitable

      La série d'actions retardées ou reportées aboutit à un résultat comportemental imparfait et indésirable pour notre cerveau, ce qui entraîne une perturbation émotionnelle. La procrastination devient rapidement un sujet d'intérêt dans de nombreux contextes professionnels, qu'il s'agisse de la finance (les gens remettent à plus tard la résolution de leurs problèmes financiers) ou de la santé (les gens retardent leur visite chez le médecin).

       En psychologie, la définition exacte de la procrastination fait l'objet de nombreux débats, mais les domaines des neurosciences et de l'économie comportementale considèrent la procrastination comme un retard irrationnel, où l'on reporte une action alors que l'on se sent plus mal en point à cause d'elle. Conformément à notre neurobiologie, les intentions à long terme semblent être générées et observées, principalement dans ce que l'on appelle le cortex préfrontal du cerveau. Ces impulsions peuvent être générées par notre système limbique, qui est particulièrement sensible aux stimuli très concrets, suggérant une gratification immédiate. Il en résulte que nous avons l'intention de travailler mais que nous remettons à plus tard le moment venu, découvrant que nos préférences changent soudainement à mesure que nous poursuivons des tentations concrètes plus facilement agréables. Cela expliquerait pourquoi l'impulsivité est l'un des traits les plus fortement associés à la procrastination. Nous remettons à plus tard des tâches dont la récompense est à long terme parce que nous sommes impulsivement distraits par des tentations à court terme.

      Procrastination dubitative

      Remettre à plus tard la prise d'une décision en cas de conflit ou de choix est tout à fait normal dans la procrastination. Les personnes qui évitent de prendre de nombreuses décisions ont tendance à avoir peur des erreurs et sont probablement très perfectionnistes. Ces procrastinateurs recherchent de manière obsessionnelle des quantités croissantes d'informations définitives sur toutes les alternatives disponibles (comme si c'était possible !) avant d'essayer de prendre une décision. La solution parfaitement raisonnée n'arrive jamais. Les procrastinateurs éprouvent une profonde incertitude quant à leurs décisions, se trouvent dans l'incapacité d'agir et recherchent continuellement la certitude avant d'agir. Ce mécanisme, qui conduit à la formation d'une méfiance profonde à l'égard de ses capacités, a un effet néfaste car il surestime les capacités des autres ou sous-estime les siennes. Ce retard dans l'action se transforme en une anxiété accrue, qui les bloque encore plus. La répétition de ces tactiques de report ne fait qu'accroître leur honte et leur mépris d'eux-mêmes, ce qui exacerbe encore leur sentiment d'impuissance et d'incapacité. Ces comportements aboutissent généralement à ce que la personne souffre d'une faible estime de soi et finisse par devenir chroniquement insécure.

      Comportement de procrastination

      La procrastination comportementale est une forme d'auto-sabotage qui permet aux gens de rejeter la responsabilité sur autrui et d'éviter d'agir. Les procrastinateurs préfèrent donner l'impression qu'ils manquent d'efforts plutôt que de capacités. Leur logique est parfaitement illustrée par l'idée que "si je ne finis jamais la tâche, vous ne pourrez jamais juger de mes capacités". Leur approche culpabilisante et leur incapacité à atteindre leurs objectifs aboutissent généralement à ce que le temps soit le coupable. L'inquiétude concernant les autres et la façon dont ils peuvent critiquer ou juger leurs capacités est primordiale dans leur esprit. Il n'est pas rare que les personnes qui procrastinent se considèrent uniquement sur la base de leurs capacités et cherchent continuellement à se forger une image d'elles-mêmes et une estime de soi sur cette base. Cependant, la boucle fermée dans laquelle ils sont coincés devient un cercle vicieux dans lequel l'évitement conduit à l'anxiété. Le fait de ne pas réussir alimente l'anxiété et le manque d'estime de soi, et ainsi de suite.

       

       

      Réservez une consultation en cabinet à Paris Montorgueuil ou à distance en visio-conférence

      Nous recevons nos patients du lundi au vendredi. 
      Pour prendre un rdv vous pouvez nous appeler au +33 (0) 1 48 07 40 40 
      ou au +33 (0) 6 03 24 81 65 ou bien encore le fixer directement en ligne
      en cliquant ici :

      L'auto-illusion : "C'est sous la pression que je travaille le mieux"

      Les procrastinateurs peuvent avoir l'étrange capacité de sous-estimer le temps nécessaire à l'accomplissement d'une tâche et peuvent souffrir de l'illusion qu'ils ont tout sous contrôle. La suite logique de ce raisonnement est donc la suivante : "il n'y a pas de pression pour commencer" puisqu'il y a plus que suffisamment de temps. À ce stade, des efforts considérables et généralement excessifs sont déployés pour achever la tâche et le travail progresse. Cette soudaine poussée d'énergie psychique et physique les voit progresser par manque de temps ou de ressources, ce qui les laisse finalement épuisés, fatigués et essoufflés.

      Les obstacles à l'action

      Un procrastinateur peut être confronté à des sentiments de manque de confiance en soi et d'estime de soi, comme nous l'avons mentionné précédemment. Le véritable piège peut également se trouver dans leur insistance à exiger les normes les plus élevées, car ils ne peuvent accepter que leur travail ne soit pas assez bon. Lorsque les gens procrastinent, ils peuvent insister pour atteindre le plus haut niveau de performance, malgré leur sentiment omniprésent d'incapacité. Mes très chers collègues, les docteurs Claudette Portelli et Matteo Papantuono (2019), ont écrit un livre novateur sur les aspects compulsifs du plaisir et ils soulignent le fait que le plaisir est aussi une source de grande douleur. Un excès de plaisir peut inhiber notre capacité à éprouver du plaisir. La procrastination s'accompagne d'un désir d'activités et d'expériences plus agréables, afin de nous distraire du travail qui nous attend et qui semble si désagréable. Nous adoptons des distractions telles que le plaisir de faire quelque chose d'agréable, de prendre un café ou d'aller boire une bière avec un ami. Il peut également s'agir du plaisir de résister et de prendre le contrôle, ce qui se traduit par la déclaration aux autres ou à soi-même : "Je le ferai quand je serai prêt".

      Références

      Gibson, P. (2021) The 12 Most Common Mental Traps (Les 12 pièges mentaux les plus courants). Strategic Science Books.

       

      Lire aussi :

       

      Je souhaite consulter

      Prendre rendez-vous

       

       

      Une équipe de plus de
      50 formateurs en France
      et à l'international

      de nos étudiants satisfaits de
      leur année de formation à LACT*

      Des partenariats internationaux

      La certification qualité a été délivrée au titre de
      la catégorie d’actions suivantes : Action de formation

      Une équipe de plus de
      50 formateurs en France
      et à l'international

      de nos étudiants satisfaits de
      leur année de formation à LACT*

      Des partenariats internationaux

      La certification qualité a été délivrée au titre de
      la catégorie d’actions suivantes : Action de formation

      Sauvegarder
      Choix utilisateur pour les Cookies
      Nous utilisons des cookies afin de vous proposer les meilleurs services possibles. Si vous déclinez l'utilisation de ces cookies, le site web pourrait ne pas fonctionner correctement.
      Tout accepter
      Tout décliner
      En savoir plus
      Unknown
      Unknown
      Accepter
      Décliner
      Marketing
      Ensemble de techniques ayant pour objet la stratégie commerciale et notamment l'étude de marché.
      Google
      Accepter
      Décliner
      Analytics
      Outils utilisés pour analyser les données de navigation et mesurer l'efficacité du site internet afin de comprendre son fonctionnement.
      Google Analytics
      Accepter
      Décliner
      Functional
      Outils utilisés pour vous apporter des fonctionnalités lors de votre navigation, cela peut inclure des fonctions de réseaux sociaux.
      Hotjar
      Accepter
      Décliner